My 2 Favorite Fall-tastic Recipes: Spiced Wine and Pumpkin Dump Cake!

Happy Monday Loves!

I hope you had a great weekend! Here in Western PA, October rolled in with all its Fall Weather Glory; chilly rain and cloudy skies. Fall is my favorite season, so this weather made for a cozy weekend I really enjoyed.  It also inspired me to finally try some Falltastic recipes I’d been eyeing up. I’m really excited to share not one, but TWO delicious and EASY recipes perfect for this time of year.  I hope they will become fast favorites in your kitchen – they are in mine!

SPICED WINE

While watching my brother’s hockey game Saturday afternoon, my Mom started talking about all the delicious spiced wines she had in Switzerland last December. Those hockey rinks are COLD, and she had a craving. I’ve never had spiced wine, but I figured if Mamasita liked it, then I probably would too! One of my best girlfriends was coming over that night to try out other new dishes, so I went home and Googled a recipe.  As always, the search results were aplenty. I chose one by my favorite Food Network chef, Sandra Lee, and it did not disappoint!

Here’s what you’ll need:

I’m no photographer.
  • 2 bottles red wine (I used Lambrusco because I like sweet
    reds)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 ½ tablespoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • ¼ cup raisins
  •  2 oranges sliced

Combine all ingredients over medium heat. Bring to a simmer, remove from heat and let steep for 5 minutes. Garnish with the wine soaked oranges slices if you like.  We just
ate them right out of the pot – raisins too!

The aroma of this cooking made my place smell like Heaven!

Is that easy or what?! And seriously, so delicious! The sweet wine mixed so well with the spices.  It tastes very similar to hot cider, but a little richer.  It was the perfect beverage for our Girls Night In as we filled my cozy little apartment with gossip and giggles!

PUMPKIN DUMP CAKE

My mom has been making this pumpkin dump cake for years.  I’m a big fan of anything pumpkin-flavored, but this just might be my favorite!  This recipe is just about as easy as the spiced wine, and goes great with it too!  The rich creamy pumpkin bottom and crispy pecan topping are a perfect pair, and topped with whipped cream it’s even better!

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 (29 oz) can pumpkin
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spices
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped

Combine pumpkin, sugar, evaporated milk, eggs, pumpkin pie spices and salt in mixing bowl. Beat well. Pour into greased and floured 9 x 13 inch glass pan. Sprinkle cake mix over pumpkin mixture, then sprinkle on the pecans. Pour melted butter over all. Bake
at 350 degrees for 50 to 60 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Watch closely at end the end, as it can burn easily.

Again, I'm no photographer, but I wanted you to see the final product.

I wish you all could have smelled my apartment last night as this was baking. It was divine!  As soon as it was out of the oven, I cut myself a little piece, and slipped dreamily into pumpkin bliss!
If you have any questions, please leave a comment below, and if you try either recipe, please tell me how it turns out!
XO Stephanie
5 responses

Leave a Reply

