Wedding Wednesdays: Something Blue

“Something old, something new. Something borrowed, something blue, And a silver sixpence in her shoe.”

Have you ever heard this old British wedding poem? It is said to have started in the Victorian Era, and many traditional brides still use it as a guide to their wedding day attire. While all these details have different meanings, today I’d like to focus on Something Blue.

According to my research, this cool color has played a role in weddings for a very long time. Ancient Roman brides wore blue to symbolize love, modesty and fidelity. Christianity has always depicted the Virgin Mary in blue, so the color has also symbolized purity. Whatever the reason, this tradition allows the bride to add a fun splash of color to her wedding attire – maybe even the whole event!
There are so many creative ways you can wear some blue on your wedding day. As always, I’ve done a little research, and here are my favorite finds!
SM/MED  Bridal White and Navy Blue Garter Set
 Blue garters I found on (what else) Etsy.com from HelloDesignCrew
I am completely in love with these earrings. The blue sapphire will pop in contrast with a white gown and bring some fun color to accent your face.
If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m a shoe fanatic, so naturally, my favorite Something Blue trend is blue shoes!  I found all of these while browsing Pinterest, and I think the glittery ones are my favorite.  (Here’s a DIY Tutorial about glittering your own!)
And how about some glitter under your shoe with this blue “I Do!” This particular set can be purchased at www.ghostorchicd.co.uk
Pinned Image
 Another under-the-shoe idea I saw recently is this:
 Pinned Image
Have your bridesmaids, your parents, anyone you want, sign  your soles in blue ink. Everyone who loves you will be with you every step of the way 🙂
There are so many things you can do to incorporate your something blue, so I’ll just leave you with a little inspiration board I put together of the rest of my favorite things.  If you have any other ideas, I’d love to hear them, so please leave a comment!
XO Stephanie
Leave a Reply

