Wedding Wednesday: Save the Date! (Wait, it’s Thursday??)

Soooo, all day I’ve been thinking how I need to write today for Wedding Wednesday. I even took time yesterday to research some things before I left work. Only now did I realize that today is in fact THURSDAY! Whoops!! Having Monday off really messed me up! I’ve been confused all week… obviously.

At any rate, Happy (belated) Wedding Wednesday!  I hope it was a great one!  I was thinking yesterday how the holidays are the most popular time of year to get engaged, and brides-to-be everywhere are hearing the same thing again and again: “Congratulations! Did you pick a date yet?!”

If you in this same boat, and you answer “yes,” Congratulations! You may want to start thinking about sending Save the Date cards, because apparently we’re all dying to pencil you in!

My stance on Save the Dates is not one-sided, as I don’t think they’re a must-have, especially if you have a limited budget. Afterall, word of mouth news travels faster than any postal service, am I right?  But they are a very nice way to formally announce your engagement, the date, and semi-invite your family and friends.

You have quite a few options with Save the Dates.  Designs are endless, and you can contact a local design shop, buy them online from places like Etsy.com, or design your own if you’re really good with a computer.

Paper cards are always a good choice, but here are some unique ideas I can’t get enough of:

Magnet Save the Dates

modern orchid button magnet save the date in box mailer (25)

Modern Orchid Button Magnet by Kiss And Tell Cards

Magnet Save-the-Dates are very, very popular.  I particularly love the them, because they’re a small practical token for everyone and once they’re on a fridge, they’re hard to misplace.  The adorable buttons pictured here, can be purchased on Etsy from Kiss and Tell Cards.  You can also design your own on Vistaprint.com.  There you can personalize one of their 250+ designs, upload photos, and get them shipped right to your door.

Scratch Off Save the Dates

Save The Date Scratch Off Cards

I just love the idea of scratch off Save the Dates!  The hearts scratch away like lottery tickets to reveal your date.  You can choose from a variety of colors and purchase them online from Creative Wedding Favors.  Fun!

Crossword Puzzle Save the Dates

Crossword Save the Date from Glamour.com

This one will take a little creativity and some designing skills, but it’s a really cute idea! The answers to the puzzle will reveal the wedding date.  You may also consider creating your own word find.  They’re easier to make on your own.

Video Save the Date

If you’re really creative and good with a computer, you can make a Save the Date video and send via email to your list of attendees.  This video is GENIUS and I have no idea how someone has this much patience, but it paid off!  It’s from nickbpaonessa on Youtube.

What is your favorite type of Save the Date?  What are your ideas?  Leave me a comment and let me know 🙂

Til next time,

XO – Stephanie

2 responses

  1. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a
    theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

  2. Pingback: Memories and Reminders « For The Love of Leisure

Leave a Reply

