Fitness Challenge – Do You Accept?

You know how I mentioned my New Year’s resolution was to lose those extra pounds I’ve been hating forever?  Well, apparently everyone in my office made the same  – Today was Day 1 of our Fitness Challenge!

For the next 3 months, we’ll be competing against each other to get healthy. The winner receives $50 and the chance to punk a coworker, you know, make them do something silly.  I’m really excited, because it’s so much easier to stay on track of your weight-loss goals when you have a support group. Even if we’re all trying to beat the others!

We’re taking a simple approach.  There’s no weighing in, so winning isn’t about how much you lose, it’s about sticking to the plan.  We each get awarded points per day, one of those old-school foil star stickers to be exact, that we keep on a chart.  The parameters are as follows:

  • No eating unhealthy fast-food Monday – Friday; salads & fruit excluded
  • No  bringing in unhealthy treats like cookies, bagels, donuts, etc.
  • No eating unhealthy snacks from our food service stations (i.e. awesome continental breakfast coffee cake that is my biggest weakness)
  • No alcohol Monday morning til weekend starts on Friday
  • No regular sodas
  • Work out at least 3 times per week for 30+ minutes each time
  • Weekends are do-as-you-please

We’re using the honor system, as everyone is going to keep track of his and her own points. We’re also going to be awarded extra stars if we bring something positive to the atmosphere of the office.

I’m taking it a step further and only eating a certain amount of calories per day, and I’m keeping track of on my Calorie Calculator app.  It’s gonna be difficult, but I’m ready to make a healthier me!

So, I ask you, do you want to join the challenge?  You can do it on your own – make your own chart and award yourself some stickers – (It worked when we were kids, why shouldn’t it now?)  Me and your fellow Twenty-Something readers will be your support group, as I’ll start group emails with anyone who wants to join in.  You could also get your office started on the challenge!

It’s all about being a healthier version of fabulous you this year, and I think that’s something we can all benefit from!

Send me an email if you want to accept the fitness challenge! thetwentysomethingblog@yahoo.com 🙂

XO – Stephanie

One response

  1. Pingback: Monday – Friday Workout Plan | thetwentysomethingblog

Leave a Reply

