4 Awesomely Handy Eco-Friendly Gizmos from Margaux

Margaux is back today, and she’s doing what she does best – teaching us how to be nicer to Mama Earth, with 4 Awesomely Handy Eco-Friendly Gizmos. 🙂

L.I.F.E. Jacket

1. L.I.F.E. Jacket: I recently received this from my roommate, and it is rad! While at best I prefer a reusable mug with my coffee, that isn’t always feasible, so you can at least cut out the unnecessary cardboard overwrap AND help women in Africa. That’s right, they’re handmade in Kenya by a special group of women.  Making the product allows them to earn an income and send their kids to school.  They’re only $2.99 and you can buy your own at http://www.ctcinternational.org/shop/life-jacket/life-jacket

Wrap-N-Mat

2. Wrap-n-Mat: I realize how cheesy this is but I got it from school (yes, I go to a professional institution that is dolling out sandwich mats, let it go). It is sincerely awesome and saves a ton of zip-locks/foil.  You wrap up your sandwich in it and velcro it shut, then use it as a placemat.  Plus, there’s no more gross plastic taste in your bread. http://www.wrapnmat.com/ 

3. Reusable shopping bag that you ACTUALLY USE: At this point, reusable shopping bags are everywhere, and I’m sure you have a closetful that all too often get forgotten- here are a few reasons to utilize them and ditch the plastic (ditch plastic water bottles too)

  1. Estimate average is about 500 years for EACH bag to decompose
  2. Americans use about 1 Million (some estimates say 500 Billion worldwide) plastic bags each year. http://www.cleanair.org/Waste/wasteFacts.html
  3. The Great Pacific Garbage patch:  This Monster exists. It’s hurting the animals and destroying our oceans (about 100,000 plastic bags end up here every year)
  4. Yearly about 12 Million barrels of oil are used to make plastic bags alone—(lower gas prices anyone?) http://www.alternet.org/environment/61607/

Great Pacific Garbage Patch

Starbucks Reusable Iced Coffee Cup

4. Reusable to-go mug and cup: Everyone has a to-go mug and everyone sees the ice coffee to-go mugs, but I am sincerely in love with them. Probably because I really like a morning smoothie. And you can write your name on the Starbucks version! Or for my Starbucks-hating friend Stephanie, you can get one on Ebay for like $7.00.  (Yeah, she’s crazy.)

Now you can go out into the world and be nice to her with all your new products. However, I will confess my one reusable vice – reusable straws sincerely freak me out… I feel like they the soap never rinses out and they are havens for germs. Ick!

Til Next Time,

Margaux

2 responses

Leave a Reply

