My Take on Valentine’s Day

Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, and are getting some of the sunshine that’s pouring through my office’s windows right now.  It’s hard to believe it’s really February, with all the spring-like weather we’ve been enjoying in Western PA, but, it really is February 6th, and Valentine’s Day is just around the corner…

I have a love/hate (no pun intended) relationship with Valentine’s Day.  As you know, I’m perpetually single, so this holiday doesn’t really thrill me in its truest sense.  It  annoys me how this one silly day has gained such a stigma and can make singles feel like they’re missing out or not as special as couples.  It’s easy to start being a bitter-betty when seeing all those cute commercials for sparkly diamonds and bouquets of roses, but I have my own solution to ward off the ValenDOOM’s Day blues and it’s super, super easy.  As the Beatles say:  All You Need Is Love.

Yep, that’s right, on Valentine’s Day, I don’t think about what love I may or may not be missing.  I think about all the love I HAVE and I spend the day celebrating in it.  Afterall, that’s what this holiday is all about!!  It’s not just for happy lovers – though RIGHT ON to all of them – it’s about celebrating all the types of love around you – love of God, family, friends, coworkers, pets, whatever it may be!  This goes for all you reading this – single or not!

In celebrating, I always like to do something festive or special. Whether it be decorating sugar cookies to leave out for clients, sending my baby brother a card, or wearing my favorite red ensemble, I embrace the holiday!

This year, I’m going to make some chocolate covered strawberries for my coworkers.  We’re a dysfunctional family of crazies, and though sometimes we can’t stand each other, at the end of the day, I know these people care about me, and I care about them.  Since the holiday falls on a work-day, I figured, what better way to celebrate than giving them all a little some delicious and made with my love!

Plus, they’re SO easy to make!  (Here’s a quick recipe if you wanna make your own.) I plan on covering them in melted milk and dark chocolate, drizzling some with white chocolate or peanut butter and maybe even rolling a few in pretzel bits for added crunch.  I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. YUMTASTIC.

The bottom line is, I think this is a holiday to be celebrated fully for no other reason that it’s a great reminder that we all are loved in some way, but someone, and we have a lot of love to share with those around us – so, why not put on our best red sweaters and silly smiles and dive right in?

What will you be doing for Valentine’s Day?  I’m seriously curious, so leave a comment below!

XO – Stephanie

5 responses

  1. I am baking cupcakes with hearts in the middle and giving to my loves my little cousins and my family. Oh yea and going to watch the vow because I LOVE Channing Tatum! Lol

  2. Pingback: National CHOCOLATE Day!?! | thetwentysomethingblog

  3. Pingback: Scroogentines – A Heart-Felt Rant on Valentine’s Day | thetwentysomethingblog

  4. Pingback: National Pancake Day | thetwentysomethingblog

Leave a Reply

