National Pancake Day

Hey all!

Remember how National Chocolate Day was a couple weeks ago?  Well, I just learned that tomorrow is NATIONAL PANCAKE DAY! I LOOOOVE pancakes… almost as much as I love chocolate. Their fluffy, semi-sweet, carby goodness are hard to pass up, and I love them with all sorts of toppings, from syrup, to fruit, to whipped cream or just plain butter.

Nearly every continent has it’s version of a pancake, so it’s no wonder we decided to celebrate this carbolicious breakfast food.  Did you know pancakes are probably the earliest breakfast food eaten by prehistoric folks who baked them on hot shallow stones? Yep, that’s what I heard from my friend Wikipedia.  Ancient Greeks, we’re talking 4 B.C, made a version called τηγανίτης (tēganitēs) for breakfast. These days, the French eat Crepes, the Germans eat Pfannkuchen, Indians eat Pooda, Australians eat Pikelets, and some Africans areas eat Injera.  Though different things go into each region’s recipe, they’re all round-shaped, made from a sort of batter, cooked in a frying pan, and enjoyed by many.

This isn't my photo, but my pancakes looked pretty darn close to these!

This past weekend I made Banana Chocolate Chip pancakes for my family. They were divine, and, like most pancakes, super easy to make.  Incase you need a new trick to turn regular pancakes into something special to celebrate this fun holiday, here’s how I made mine [please take note of my uber accurate measuring system ;)]:

I used Target brand (yep Target) pancake mix – the “just add water” kind; enough to make about 20-some pancakes.  I like to make my pancakes restaurant size, so I think I got 10 out of what I used.  I threw in about 4 palm-fulls of the milk chocolate morsels I had leftover from the chocolate-covered strawberries.  Then added two palm-fulls of white chocolate morsels, per baby bro’s request.  I diced up a banana and a half, added a few sprinkles of cinnamon, and half a cap-full of vanilla extract and got to work frying, flipping, and stuffing my face. YUM!

If you don’t feel like making your own, you can head over to IHOP for a FREE short stack.  Those partaking in IHOP’s National Pancake Day are asked to supplement their free cakes with a monetary donation benefiting Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.  Sounds like pretty sweet deal to me!

I’m not sure if I’m gonna get up and make some cakes, or just celebrate in spirit wishing I was indulging.  Hmm decisions, decisions!  Are you gonna participate in this kitchy holiday? What is your favorite kind of pancake?

XO, Stephanie

One response

Leave a Reply

