Wedding Wednesday: Bridal Shower Bliss

Happy Wedding Wednesday Pretty Peeps!

I’m excited to get to share with you something personal to me for Wedding Wednesday.  A couple Sundays ago, my Mom, the bridesmaids, and I threw a shower for my beautiful, wonderful, bride-to-be sister!  It was everything I wanted to give her, and more, and it went SO quickly.   After two years of thinking about it, a few days of busily getting everything ready, an hour of semi-frantic decorating and set-up, and 3 fast hours of seeing my sister smile ear-to-ear in bridal bliss, I can’t believe it’s over!

Sister, Me and LOTS of her presents 🙂

Do you recognize my dress from anywhere?  Yesterday’s post perhaps? 😉

The decorated room. I like details 🙂

We had the shower at the Hampton Banquet Hall, and I could not have been happier with the personal customer service and fantastic meal they provided.  They were on top of EVERYTHING, even offering up the catering manager to help hang some paper poms from the ceiling, and graciously dealing with my last-minute changes to the seating arrangement.

Sister requested having cupcakes at the shower quite awhile ago, so I enlisted my talented friend Katie of Kake Pops and Cakes by Katie.  We devoured four flavors of beautifully decorated, and divinely delicious cupcakes.  Her chocolate with chocolate icing made one bridesmaid exclaim “With this – who needs a man?!”

Beautiful and Delicious Cupcakes from Kake Pops and Cakes by Katie

Something that was important to me, when designing and planning the shower, was to make it special and personalized.  Too often, bridal showers become run-of-the-mill, and I wanted my sister to have a shower that truly belonged to her.   That’s how I ended up designing the monograms that hung off of each chair and centerpiece.  The centerpiece vases were from all the flowers her fiance had sent to her while he was away at college.  My mom had saved them, and it worked out perfectly.  I also added a picture of her when she was a little girl playing dress-up as a bride to her Bridal Bingo.  I loved all the “awe’s” from the crowd when they saw it.  There was another game played, that was a rhyme and scrapbook all in one, but that’s a whole post in itself!

Personalized Monogram

Silk Hydrangeas are a simple and elegant centerpiece

We also created Reserved signs, so all the family and friends would be able to sit by they women they knew.  Since Sister got engaged at Disney World – in Cinderella’s Castle over dinner, with the ring sitting in an engraved glass slipper – the picture of the castle was only fitting – as was the quote.  These little, simple touches made it all about Sister 🙂

Reserved Signs

In all, I couldn’t have been happier with how everything came together, and seeing my sister basking in the glow of soon-to-be wedded bliss, was all I wanted and more!

Have you ever planned a bridal shower?  What fun things did you to? Tell me in the comments section below.

XO – Stephanie

2 responses

  1. IT WAS PERFECT!!! It was a beautiful shower, and I really was so happy and so excited about everything you did for me. Thanks again- so much!
    -“Sister” (haha)

Leave a Reply

